Le Chevallier

Jacques Le Chevallier

Jacques Le Chevallier, born in 1896 in Paris and dead in 1987 in Fontenay-aux-Roses, is a french glassmaker, decorator, illustrator, designer and engraver.

From 1911 to 1915, he studied art at the Ecole Nationale des Arts Décoratifs. After the First World War, he created an stained-glass studio in collaboration with Louis Barillet. This association lasted until 1945.

Member of the Société des Artistes Décorateurs and of the Salon d’Automne, painter, owner of a stained-glass studio, Jacques Le Chevallier was a many-faceted artist. Three aspects of his personnality and artistic activities can there be distinguished : the theorician, the artist continually looking for innovations and the glassmaker master.

Jacques Le Chevallier was convinced that art has not in the modern society the room it deserves. By his articles, conference and his teaching, he tried to fight against this failure of modern times.

Recalling that the former artcraft role, roots and motor of the artistic activity, doesn’t match anymore with the economic demands of our time, he affirms that only an artist with an excellent formation can renew the Fine Arts, with a large use of his talents. It is by using these talents that he realized these audacious lights during the 1920’s and the 1930’s, showing his qualities of a passionate researcher.

Jacques
Le Chevallier

Jacques Le Chevallier

Jacques le Chevallier, né en 1896 à Paris et mort en 1987 à Fontenay-aux-Roses, est un verrier, un décorateur, un illustrateur, un designer et un graveur français.

De 1911 à 1915, il étudie l'art à l'Ecole Nationale des Arts Décoratifs. Après la première guerre mondiale, il créa un atelier de verrerie, en collaboration avec Louis Barillet. Cette association perdura jusqu'en 1945.

Membre de la Société des Artistes Décorateurs et du Salon d'Automne, peintre, dirigeant d'un atelier de verrerie, Jacques le Chevallier était un artiste à multiples facettes. Trois aspects de sa personnalité et de son activité artistique peuvent être distingués : le théorien, l'artiste continuellement en recherche d'innovation et le maitre verrier.

Jacques le Chevallier était convaincu que l'art n'avait pas dans la société moderne la place qu'il méritait. Par ses articles, conférences et cours, il essaya de se battre contre l'échec des temps modernes.

Rappelant que l'ancien rôle de l'artisanat, racine et moteur et l'activité artistique, ne convenait plus à la demande économique de notre temps, Le Chevallier affirme que seul un artiste ayant une excellente formation pouvait renouveller les Beaux-Arts, par une large utilisation de ses talents. C'est par l'utilisation de ces talents qu'il réalisa ces lampes audatieuses durant les années 1920 et 1930, montrant ses qualités d'un chercheur passionné.